Welcome to the club

Hello, or “Howdy” as they will say where I grew up (Wyoming).  I expect to talk about things that interest me and by extension, some of you as well.  I am passionate about dogs, mountains, sports cars, airplanes, clothes, firearms, travel, politics, architecture, art, design, single malt scotch, cigars, food, good conversation, most things English.  I love polo, the Epsicopal Church and William F. Buckley, Jr..  I think John Wayne and Steve McQueen were over rated, William Powell, Jack Lemmon and Robert Duval are under rated.  I think that the Model 94 Winchester 30-30 is the best all around rifle I ever owned while the Colt 1911 .45 caliber pistol is the noisiest.

The worst car I ever owned, hands down, was a 1967 P1800 Volvo.  The best was a 1969 BMW 2002 Alpina.  The ones that I am sorry that got away were a 1962 Porsche hardtop convertable and a Lotus Superseven Mk.IV.  My “new” car is a 1965 Series lla 109 Land Rover station wagon and my “old” car is a 1960 Austin Healey Bugeye Sprite.

I have a few more opinions, but maybe this will get us kicked off on a rousing conversation!

One comment on “Welcome to the club

  1. Will says:

    Nice choice of cars. Agree with much of what you say about actors, though I’ll still watch McQueen and Wayne for the simplicity. William holden was pretty good too. Is that your house at the top?

Leave a Reply

